H is for Hobbiton

So you can check out my other alphabet date that covers the whole of the North Island here. But I wanted to do a seperate post on Hobbiton. As soon as we came to NZ this was one of our plans and I cant believe its takes us 2 years to finally get up there.

We planned the day and booked onto one of the early tours. If this is something you’re planning on doing and you’re not flexible about times make sure you book early as it books up fast, saying that though they ruin ALOT of tours per day. When I looked on the website my first reaction was jeeeze this place must be a gold mine. Any way if you want more info about that I’ll link the website here.

When we arrived I was so excited. I cant say i’m a massive lord of the rings fan but I’ve read the books and watched the movies. Joe and I did a have a bit of a binge watch from our hotel room the night before too. If you’re a massive fan this place must be like heaven. It well organised and we met our guide at our allocated time and headed up the road through beautiful farm ground to the actual village. The tour was amazing as I said I would highly recommend it! I think it was well worth the money and the tour guide was very well informed and rehearsed. The huts themselves were incredible the amount of work and detail really is insane.

IMG_1567IMG_1579IMG_1597IMG_1606IMG_1619IMG_1624IMG_1734IMG_1617IMG_1613IMG_1634IMG_1627IMG_1629IMG_1630

Half way through you stop off for a drink and sit down and then its straight back to it to finish up before heading back to the car park. I learnt a lot of very interesting facts and we both had a great day and smiled a lot! 😀 One of our best alphabets dates so far!

Paris X

Leave a comment